Digitization and SMEs - Germany's answer to Silicon Valley

The word pair digitization and middle class does not sound promising in our ears. It is more reminiscent of the constant reminders of how much German small and medium-sized enterprises are lagging behind in digitization, especially by the Americans. In the digital age, you automatically think of Silicon Valley, the forerunner of digital disruption, and of course, the big corporations that are trying to keep pace with strategic departments. If anything, then at the end of the middle class, usually followed by a big question mark, as regards his ability and his will to digital transformation.

Mittelstand - backbone of the German economy

Germany's focus on its small and medium-sized businesses and the associated warnings for a more consistent, faster digitalization certainly have their justification. Like no other, the German economy is characterized by its strong middle class, which made us the export world champion with its quality products "Made in Germany". So it is only understandable that the view is resting on this backbone of the German economy, when it comes to the implementation of the fourth industrial revolution. The success of SMEs in the digital transformation is crucial to our entire economy. The warnings of a quick digitization of the middle class are justifiable, however, not only because of its enormous importance for the economy as a whole, but also in view of the advantage others have already gained. airbnb, Amazon and Uber are outpacing the competition in their classic industry, and only with their digital platforms. They all have in common that they are cheaper, more resource-efficient and more accessible to customers. They show that the value added will no longer depend on the product in the future, but migrate to the platforms and related services. Here, the German middle class must be careful that its high-quality products do not degenerate into the pure workbench of new platforms from overseas, which then enrich these products with the corresponding Smart Services and take over the customer relationship. Thus, for example, in the automotive sector - the flagship German quality - German automakers cooperate with Google. If this is not done with caution, it can happen that ultimately comes out as a product, a "Google Car", in which the manufacturer itself reduced to the supplier and in the perception and the value creation Google would stand out.

Digitization takes place in 2 steps - first the optimization, then the transformation

But instead of being intimidated by this scenario, the German economy and, above all, the German middle class should take on the challenge and recognize digitization as what it is: a great opportunity, just waiting to be seized.

In concrete terms, this means for medium-sized companies to consistently establish software solutions, to promote data-driven business models and to identify the platform industry with its opportunities. Digital skills are essential for successful implementation. Digitalization consists of 2 steps, digital optimization and digital transformation. The first step, the digital optimization is what we Germans can, an optimization and efficiency increase of inventory processes. These skills were more localized in the IT department of a company for digital. But when it comes to the second step, the digital transformation, ie the invention of new, mostly data-driven business models, other competencies are required. In order to recognize potential, synergies and digital business models for one's own company, employees need to undergo digital training in strategic positions and in management. Especially in non-engineering industries, there is a large gap in knowledge, which must be closed either by training or using external experts.

For the digital transformation, it is crucial that the technologies are not only used to replace existing processes one to one, as in pure digital optimization - for example, digitally storing invoices or storing data in the cloud instead of on the computer. Rather, digital transformation means developing previously impossible business models and new work processes that fully exploit the potential of technology and create something new. Examples of these are the new business models for arranging cars, taxis and apartments. The entire process of choosing accommodation, booking and payment is done via the online platform. As the world leader in this field, airbnb annually transacts more than 10 million overnight stays in 190 countries. With 25 billion dollar market valuation, the few years old switching platform is worth more than the global hotel chains Marriott or Hyatt. The high registration numbers of these and other platforms speak for themselves. With their new business models, these companies pose a threat to the classic industries such as the taxi or hotel industry. Overnight stays are suddenly booked elsewhere than in the classic hotels, and their prices and demand are falling due to the new and often cheaper offer.

Data as raw material

It is now important for small and medium-sized companies to consider how their own business model can be further developed with the new digital possibilities and ultimately transformed, so that they are not overtaken by digital uplegers in their own industry. At the center of this consideration are data for many industries. With the help of big data and appropriate analysis, one's own processes can be optimized and resources can be saved. On the other hand, data can be used to provide additional service to customers. There are many possibilities in the area of ​​business customers as well as end customers: For example, the failure of machines and the maintenance status can be better predicted by real-time analysis of machine data and comparison of data with those of other customers. For end users, the search and purchase behavior of other users can be used for suggestions for other interesting articles, as Amazon and other sales platforms already do. For example, Zalando goes a step further and offers its own styling consultancy, Zalon, which directly assembles outfits and sends them to the customer based on anonymous customer data and their own usage data, without ever having seen or ordered the products themselves - with an amazingly positive attitude customer feedback. For example, the technologies of digitization offer every industry the opportunity to expand, redevelop and engage customers more actively.

It is understandable that many entrepreneurs, especially those from remote industries, seem at first glance to feel this fundamental digital transformation and feel overwhelmed. The technologies of digitization require many skills that are not yet available in the companies. In view of the alarming assessment of, for example, the EU alone on Internet knowledge, the attainment of so-called "e-skills" is a key challenge. For example, the vast majority of 20's millions of small and medium-sized businesses in Europe are not digital natives, and therefore under-exploit the potential of new technologies.

IT SMEs as enablers of digitization

Here, the IT middle class can play an important role as an enabler, as a pacemaker of digitization. Because between the applying medium-sized and the offering IT-Mittelstand already a relationship at eye level: The common medium-sized self-understanding of the medium-sized customer-supplier relationship puts feasibility and pragmatism in the foreground. This basic attitude springs from an equal world of experience, which is characterized by small teams instead of many departments and the demand for functioning solutions instead of universal IT systems. The IT middle class shares the problems of the SME and understands, for example, how difficult it is to compete with large corporations to find the required specialists. As a multiplier, IT SMEs can provide the medium-sized businesses with the necessary digital skills and thus enable them to digitize.

If small and medium-sized businesses help themselves and actively tackle the digital transformation, then the important impetus will be given to the economy as a whole, that German SMEs will continue to be the number one innovation driver in the future. Although Silicon Valley is a model for success, a copy can not be a success story for Germany. Well-connected, digitized SMEs must be our answer to the digital challenges of our time.

Dr. Oliver Grün, 48, is President of the Federal Association of IT-Mittelstand eV (BITMi) and CEO of the medium-sized IT company GRÜN Software AG.

Cover picture: © iStock.com / Syda Productions / Stock Photo ID: 242602495

Menu

Digitalisierung und Mittelstand – Deutschlands Antwort auf Silicon Valley

Das Wortpaar Digitalisierung und Mittelstand klingt in unseren Ohren erst einmal nicht vielversprechend. Es erinnert eher an die ständigen Mahnungen, wie sehr der deutsche Mittelstand doch in der Digitalisierung hinterherhinkt und abgehängt wird, vor allem von den Amerikanern. Automatisch denkt man bei Digitalisierung sowieso zuerst an das Silicon Valley, den Vorreiter der digitalen Disruption, an zweiter Stelle vielleicht noch an die Großkonzerne, die mit strategischen Abteilungen versuchen Schritt zu halten. Wenn überhaupt folgt dann am Ende der Mittelstand, meist mit einem großen Fragezeichen, was seine Fähigkeit und seinen Willen zur digitalen Transformation betrifft.

Mittelstand – Rückgrat der deutschen Wirtschaft

Der Fokus Deutschlands auf seinen Mittelstand und die damit einhergehenden Warnungen zur konsequenteren, schnelleren Digitalisierung haben durchaus ihre Berechtigung. Wie keine andere ist die deutsche Wirtschaft geprägt von ihrem starken Mittelstand, der uns mit seinen Qualitätsprodukten „Made in Germany“ zum Exportweltmeister machte. So ist es nur verständlich, dass der Blick auf diesem Rückgrat der deutschen Wirtschaft ruht, wenn es um die Umsetzung der vierten industriellen Revolution geht. Zu entscheidend ist der Erfolg des Mittelstands in der digitalen Transformation für unsere gesamte Wirtschaft. Berechtigt sind die Warnungen einer schnellen Digitalisierung des Mittelstands aber nicht nur wegen seiner enormen Bedeutung für die Gesamtwirtschaft, sondern auch angesichts des Vorsprungs, den sich andere bereits erarbeitet haben. airbnb, Amazon und Uber verdrängen die Konkurrenz aus ihrem klassischen Gewerbe, und das nur mit ihren digitalen Plattformen. Sie alle haben gemeinsam, dass sie kostengünstiger, ressourcenschonender und für Kunden zugänglicher sind. Sie zeigen, dass die Wertschöpfung zukünftig nicht mehr hauptsächlich am Produkt hängt, sondern zu den Plattformen wandern und dazugehörigen Services. Hier muss der deutsche Mittelstand aufpassen, dass er mit seinen qualitativ hochwertigen Produkten nicht zur reinen Werkbank neuer Plattformen aus Übersee verkommt, die diese Produkte dann mit den entsprechenden Smart Services anreichern und die Kundenbeziehung übernehmen. So kooperieren nun beispielsweise im Automobilbereich – der Vorzeigebranche deutscher Qualität – deutsche Autohersteller mit Google. Wenn hier nicht mit Vorsicht agiert wird, kann es passieren, dass als Produkt letzten Endes ein „Google Car“ herauskommt, bei dem der Hersteller selbst zum Lieferanten reduziert und in der Wahrnehmung und der Wertschöpfung Google vorne stehen würde.

Digitalisierung läuft in 2 Schritten ab – Erst die Optimierung, dann die Transformation

Doch anstatt sich von diesem Szenario einschüchtern zu lassen, sollte die deutsche Wirtschaft und vor allem der deutsche Mittelstand die Herausforderung annehmen und die Digitalisierung als das erkennen was sie ist: eine große Chance, die nur darauf wartet ergriffen zu werden.

Konkret bedeutet das für den Mittelstand, konsequent Softwarelösungen zu etablieren, datengetriebene Geschäftsmodelle voranzutreiben und die Plattformwirtschaft mit ihren Chancen zu erkennen. Für eine erfolgreiche Umsetzung sind hier digitale Kompetenzen essentiell. Denn die Digitalisierung besteht aus 2 Schritten, der digitalen Optimierung und der digitalen Transformation. Der erste Schritt, die digitale Optimierung ist das, was wir Deutsche können, eine Optimierung und Effizienzsteigerung von Bestandsprozessen. Diese Kompetenzen waren für Digitales eher in der IT-Abteilung eines Unternehmens verortet. Geht es aber um den zweiten Schritt, die digitale Transformation, also das Erfinden neuer, meist datengetriebener Geschäftsmodelle, sind andere Kompetenzen gefragt. Um Potenziale, Synergien und digitale Geschäftsmodelle für das eigene Unternehmen zu erkennen, müssen sich Mitarbeiter in strategischen Positionen und im Management digital weiterbilden. Vor allem in technikfernen Branchen gibt es eine große Wissenslücke, die entweder durch Weiterbildung oder Heranziehen von externen Experten geschlossen werden muss.

Denn für die digitale Transformation ist es entscheidend, dass die Technologien nicht nur eingesetzt werden, um bestehende Prozesse eins zu eins zu ersetzen wie bei der reinen digitalen Optimierung – indem beispielsweise Rechnungen nun digital abgelegt oder Daten in der Cloud statt auf dem Computer gespeichert werden. Digitale Transformation bedeutet vielmehr, dass bisher unmögliche Geschäftsmodelle und neue Arbeitsprozesse entwickelt werden, die das Potenzial der Technologien voll ausnutzen und etwas Neues schaffen. Beispiele dafür sind die genannten neuen Geschäftsmodelle zur Vermittlung von Autos, Taxen und Wohnungen. Der gesamte Prozess von der Auswahl der Unterkunft, über die Buchung und Zahlung läuft dabei über die Online Plattform. Als Weltmarktführer in diesem Bereich vermittelt airbnb jährlich mehr als 10 Millionen Übernachtungen in 190 Ländern. Mit 25 Milliarden Dollar Marktbewertung ist die wenige Jahre alte Vermittlungsplattform mehr wert als die weltweiten Hotelketten Marriott oder Hyatt. Die hohen Registrierungszahlen dieser und weiterer Plattformen sprechen für sich. Mit ihren neuen Geschäftsmodellen stellen diese Firmen eine Bedrohung für die klassischen Branchen wie das Taxi- oder Hotelgewerbe dar. Übernachtungen werden plötzlich woanders gebucht als in den klassischen Hotels, zudem sinken deren Preise und Nachfrage aufgrund des neuen und oftmals günstigeren Angebots.

Daten als Rohstoff

Für den Mittelstand ist es nun wichtig zu überlegen, wie das eigene Geschäftsmodell mit den neuen digitalen Möglichkeiten weiterentwickelt und letztlich transformiert werden kann, sodass sie nicht in ihrer eigenen Branche von digitalen Aufsteigern überholt werden. Im Zentrum dieser Überlegung stehen für viele Branchen Daten. Mit Hilfe von Big Data und entsprechender Analyse lassen sich einerseits die eigenen Prozesse optimieren und Ressourcen einsparen. Andererseits können Daten genutzt werden, um den Kunden einen zusätzlichen Service bereitzustellen. Hier bieten sich im Bereich der Geschäftskunden wie auch der Endkunden viele Möglichkeiten: So kann zum Beispiel durch eine Echtzeitauswertung von Maschinendaten und den Vergleich der Daten mit denen anderer Kunden der Ausfall von Maschinen und der Wartungszustand besser vorhergesagt werden. Für Endkunden kann das Such- und Kaufverhalten anderer Nutzer zu Vorschlägen für weitere interessante Artikel genutzt werden, so wie Amazon und weitere Verkaufsplattformen es schon tun. Zalando geht beispielsweise noch einen Schritt weiter und bietet mit Zalon eine eigene Stylingberatung an, die auf Basis anonymisierter Kundendaten sowie der eigenen Nutzungsdaten direkt ganze Outfits zusammenstellt und dem Kunden zuschickt, ohne dass er die Produkte selbst je vorher gesehen oder bestellt hat – mit verblüffend positivem Kundenfeedback. So bieten die Technologien der Digitalisierung für jede Branche die Möglichkeit, Produkte zu erweitern, neu zu entwickeln und den Kunden aktiver einzubeziehen.

Es ist verständlich, dass vielen Unternehmern, vor allem aus technikfernen Branchen, dieser grundlegende digitale Wandel auf den ersten Blick unerreichbar scheint und sie sich überfordert fühlen. Die Technologien der Digitalisierung erfordern viele Kompetenzen, die bisher in den Unternehmen noch nicht vorhanden sind. Angesichts alarmierender Einschätzung beispielsweise von Seiten der EU allein schon zu Internet-Kenntnissen, ist das Erlangen so genannter „eSkills“ eine zentrale Herausforderung. So sind die große Mehrheit der über 20 Millionen kleinen und mittelständischen Unternehmer in Europa keine Digital Natives und nutzen deshalb das Potenzial neuer Technologien zu wenig.

IT-Mittelstand als Enabler der Digitalisierung

Hier kann der IT-Mittelstand eine wichtige Rolle als Enabler, als Schrittmacher der Digitalisierung spielen. Denn zwischen dem anwendenden Mittelstand und dem anbietenden IT-Mittelstand besteht bereits eine Beziehung auf Augenhöhe: Das gemeinsame mittelständische Selbstverständnis der mittelständischen Kunden-Lieferanten-Beziehung stellt Machbarkeit und Pragmatismus in den Vordergrund. Diese Grundeinstellung entspringt einer gleichen Erfahrungswelt, die von kleinen Teams statt vielen Abteilungen und von dem Anspruch nach funktionierenden Lösungen statt allgemeingültigen IT-Systemen geprägt ist. Der IT-Mittelstand teilt die Probleme des anwendenden Mittelstands und versteht so beispielsweise, wie schwer es in Konkurrenz zu großen Konzernen ist, die benötigten Fachkräfte zu finden. Der IT-Mittelstand kann als Multiplikator dem anwendenden Mittelstand die nötigen digitalen Fähigkeiten vermitteln und ihn somit zur Digitalisierung befähigen.

Wenn der Mittelstand sich selbst hilft und den digitalen Wandel nun tatkräftig in Angriff nimmt, wird so der wichtige Impuls in die Gesamtwirtschaft abgegeben, dass der deutsche Mittelstand auch in Zukunft Innovationstreiber Nummer eins bleiben wird. Das Silicon Valley ist zwar ein Erfolgsmodell für sich – eine Kopie kann allerdings kein Erfolgsmodell für Deutschland werden. Ein gut vernetzter, digitalisierter Mittelstand muss unsere Antwort auf die digitalen Herausforderungen unserer Zeit sein.

Dr. Oliver Grün, 48, ist Präsident des Bundesverband IT-Mittelstand e.V. (BITMi) und CEO des mittelständischen IT-Unternehmens GRÜN Software AG.

Titelbild: © iStock.com / Syda Productions / Stockfoto-ID: 242602495

Menü